Mirror

Five feet away from me you are a mirror
Sucking everything in the room
Into an other worldliness
Behind your silvering undersurface.
I watch my words disappear
As though erased by a sense of timing
Out of control and spinning into an orbit
That will bring it too close to the sun.

Even my double vanishes from me
Like a shadow of my former self bleached
Bright by a simple switching on the lights.
I cannot see the sense of it; what do you
Have to gain by being a hoarder of images
That have so little use to you in your present
Place of solitude. I imagine you surrounded
By the untranslatable reflections of the past.

This entry was published on November 29, 2013 at 3:00 am. It’s filed under Abuse, Consciousness, Deception, Fidelity, Hallucination, Imagination, Parable, Poetry, Retribution, Seeing the Future, Sightings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,064 other followers

